Moderator Team

Mark Appel

Post by Crimson's Ghost »

Eaglealum
Moderator Team
Moderator Team

Re: Mark Appel

Post by Eaglealum »

I'm up in the air here. Two 1st round picks next year would be great with a more talented draftclass projected. Or a sign and trade with Appel would be good too. I'm not sold on the kid and really like none of the choices he's made since I started paying attention to him. Pouts about not being picked higher, blows off press conf., then goes out and gets shelled by FSU 18-1, and he has the worlds biggest snake for an agent. Either way, I'd use this guy to build with...either by trade or let him go back to school and take 2 top picks next year. And for Gods' sake use one of them for a shortstop or a corner guy with some power.
"Don't argue with stupid people; they'll drop you to their level and beat you with experience."
.... A. Einstein
Crimson's Ghost
Moderator Team
Moderator Team

I know its short-season low A Baseball, but how about Luis Heredia.

19 innings pitched, 2 earned runs, 14 strikeouts to just 3 walks. .095 ERA. Those are OUTSTANDING numbers for a 17 year old.

Appel is like Cole in the sense, they were not dominant college pitchers like Strasburg. They were really, really good though. Cole projected out higher than some pitchers with better college stats, and I think it will work out well for the Pirates. A general comparison for Gerrit Cole is Justin Verlander. He may not be that good, but has similar "stuff". Cole is going to be special.

Mark Appel is not as good as Cole. If he was, he would have been drafted higher. He still has a 95 mph fastball and could be a really good pitcher. I'd love to have him around, because I think he can move through the system quickly.